IICS

View count: 4295

Aging Modernity, Reconfiguration of Urban Space, Migration and Subalternity

Aging Modernity, Reconfiguration of Urban Space, Migration and Subalternity

 Convener: Shu-Fen Lin
This group of projects addresses issues such as population decline, shrinking labor force, wage stagnation, debt, mass poverty and growing disparity faced by the so-called “developed” countries through the lens of “aging modernity”; it also investigates into the impacts of and responses to the changing mode of capital accumulation, development strategy, and the governance of space and migration, with the focus on displacement, the formation of the invisible subaltern social groups, the self-organization of (im)migrants, and the right to the city. 

Subproject IV aims to explore the structural roots of important contradictions and conflicts in the development of contemporary society, as well as the specific situation and response of those oppressed in the developing process.
In the first two years, as the main empirical research objects, this subproject focuses on the problems which were caused by industrialization in different stages in Hsinchu County since the 1970s to the present. Along with different research focuses, the members of Subproject IV are conducting on archive collection and field interviews concerning the economic development of Hsinchu Science Park, Science City and Hsinchu (Hukou) Industrial Zone and Special economic zone, and other issues related to the reconstruction of urban space and infrastructure, population migration, actors' social networks and ecological environment. 
The scope of work in the next three years will be three: (1) to continuously accumulate, integrate research data, and to establish an analytical framework; (2) to publish periodic research results; (3) to connect academic communities in South Korea, Vietnam, Malaysia, the Philippines and other places and to develop comparative studies.

Each subproject is answering part of the research problem of the joint project:

Subproject IV “Aging Modernity, Reconfiguration of Urban Space, Migration and Subalternity” focuses on questions of controversies over land, the reconstruction and redistribution of urban space and infrastructure, population migration, community building and development, actors’ social networks, and ecological environment involved the development of the Special Economic Zone in Hsinchu (Hukou) Industrial Zone, Hsinchu Science Park, and the Hsinchu Science city from the 1970s to today. Researchers in our subproject have conducted basic investigation and field interviews, and have developed (1) An analytical structure based on the “new border” and the “organic republic” to examine the impact of Hsinchu Science City (for which the Hsinchu Science Park is the core) on the local communities in Hsinchu, as well as the local responses; (2) A research perspective that focuses on the “military-industrial complex” and “migration system” and examines the postwar development of the Hukou Industrial Zone and its surrounding areas, and the migration problems resulting from it. Several members from this subproject will publish the first investigation report that covers the operation of the migrant worker brokering system in Taiwan and four other countries that export migrant labor. This report will serve as important background knowledge for further investigation into the system, network, and the production of space of international labor migration in the Hukou Industrial Zone.

Research Topics
*Heterotopia: Revisiting Hsinchu Industrial Park&Neighborhood— Shu-Fen Lin, Institute of Social Research and Cultural Studies, National Chiao Tung University

*Subalternity and Social Invisibility—Alain Brossat, Philosophy, Université Paris 8 /Institute of Social Research and Cultural Studies, National Chiao Tung University

*The New Frontier: Assembling a Technopolis in Taiwan—Ya-Chung Chuang, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, National Chiao Tung University

*The Institutions, Networks and Space Shaping of Transnational Labor Migration—Chiung-Chih Chen, Postdoctoral Researcher, National Chiao Tung University

*Modernity of Aging—Yuan-Horng Chu, Institute of Social Research and Cultural Studies, National Chiao Tung University

*Technologies of Modernity : Road Infrastructure in Indigenous Remote Area—Wen-Ling Lin, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, National Chiao Tung University

文化研究國際中心

瀏覽人次: 4075

亞際社會當前危機:老化的現代性、民主危機與都市疆界

亞際社會當前危機:老化的現代性、民主危機與都市疆界」——主持人:林淑芬

研究議題:已開發國家的人口銳減、勞動力萎縮、薪資長期停滯、債務問題、貧窮普遍化與階級分化日益懸殊等現象;新的資本積累模式與空間治理邏輯下的都市內外疆界與城市權利;政治—經濟發展策略與移動體制變遷中的共居型態與移民/工自我組織;底層階級的構成及其隱形不可見。
本子計畫由朱元鴻(交大社文所)、林淑芬(交大社文所)布洛薩Alain Brossat與莊雅仲(交大人社系)共同合作。

本子計畫在總計畫中主要負責探討當代社會發展中的重要矛盾與衝突的結構根源,以及在發展過程中受到壓迫者的具體處境與因應之道
本計畫第一、二年的工作重點,主要是以新竹縣市1970年代至今,不同階段的工業化所引發的問題為主要的經驗研究對象。不同的計畫成員分別針對新竹科學園區、科學城與新竹(湖口)工業區所涉及的特區經濟的發展歷程、都市空間與基礎設施重構、人口遷移、行動者社會網絡與生態環境等面向,進行檔案收集與田野訪調。
未來三年的工作重點有三:(1)持續積累、整合調研資料,建立分析架構;(2)發表階段性研究成果;(3)連結南韓、越南、馬來西亞、菲律賓等地的學術社群,發展比較研究

本計畫各子計畫回應總計畫問題意識的研究主軸如下:

第四子計畫「亞際社會當前危機:老化的現代性、民主危機與都市疆界」聚焦於一九七零年代至今新竹(湖口)工業區、新竹科學園區、新竹科學城的發展所涉及的特區經濟的土地問題、都市空間與基礎建設重構與重分配、人口遷移、社區發展與創生、行動者網絡與生態環境等問題,計畫成員於過去兩年進行了基礎調查與田野訪談,並分別發展出(1)以「新疆界」與「有機共和國」為分析架構,探討新竹科學園區為核心的新竹科學城,對於新竹縣市城鎮所造成的衝擊,以及地方的回應;(2)以「軍工複合體」與「遷移體制」為主要的研究視角,探究湖口工業區及其周邊戰後至今的發展,以及其中所涉及的遷移問題。部分計畫成員也將於2020年底發表第一份涵蓋臺灣與四個移工輸出國的移工仲介制度運作的調查報告,以之作為探討湖口工業區跨國勞力遷移的制度、網絡與空間形塑的重要背景資料。

研究議題包括:
1.「異質空間:重探新竹工業區&周邊」(交通大學社文所林淑芬)
2.「新疆界: 重組科學城」(交通大學人社系莊雅仲)
3.「跨國勞力遷移的制度、網絡與空間形塑」(交通大學博士後研究員陳炯志)