IICS

View count: 3519

Contemporary Thought-trends and Social Movements

Introduction

This cluster is led by the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, National Tsing Hua University. It consists of 25 members (18 from National Tsing Hua University, 6 from National Chiao Tung University, and 1 person from National Central University). Contemporary Thought-trends and Social Movements courses focus on Inter-Asia’s cultural resources, historical experiences, and the social reality of contemporary thought-trends, including multiculturalism, democracy, local autonomy, globalization, and green-life contexts. Through the concrete practices of social movements, we try to explicate and advance multi-layered dialectical relationships between the “ideal” and “reality.” By this practical-experimental process, we hope Inter-Asian cultures can experience transformative progress so that contemporary thought-trends can be enriched and extended to strive for 21st century human civilization.
 

Research Orientation

To date, the Contemporary Thought-trends and Social Movements research team courses are divided into three major themes: “East-Asian Civil Society,” “East-Asian Ecology,” and “Memories, Experiences and Visions of the Second World War.” The structure for these themes are as follows:
 
1.     East-Asian Civil Society: Democratization and civil society are issues that nearly all East-Asian countries face, and are a core issue for the integration of East-Asian regions. Therefore, this course concentration attempts to discuss the connections of civil society from the angle of cross-national social movements, and through such connections, we try to solve the dilemmas East-Asian countries are faced with, build nation-to-nation trust and cooperation, and facilitate the integration of East-Asian public spheres and domains. The courses include “Community Empowerment,” “Civil Agriculture,” “The Public Sphere,” and “Social Movements.” All of these courses are based on each nation’s experience in order to boost sharing, connection, learning, and integration.

2.     East-Asian Ecology: This course concentration attempts to understand ecological transformation processes and mechanisms through the depiction, reporting, and analysis of East-Asian ecology. The methodological approach is derived from the angles of history, literature, philosophy, sociology, politics, and anthropology. The course section deals with the environment, material and non-material resources, spatial identification, the worsening and rehabilitation of ecology, and all the online and governmental debates that are involved in ecological preservation. Basic courses center on textual analysis (including literature, history, geography and documentaries). Advanced courses center on real issues—the practices and theories of environmental ecology movements. This cluster will invite scholars, home and abroad, here to give speeches and offer courses in order to enrich and enlarge the University System of Taiwan’s academic community resources.

3.     Memories, Experiences and Visions of the Second World War: This course concentration will explore the effect and impact that World War II has had on East-Asian regions. From the perspectives of history, literature, philosophy, sociology, politics, and anthropology, we will deal with all kinds of cultural phenomena and debates (for example, “enemy-held territory” and people’s resistance and cooperation with occupants; alternative narratives about wars in history and literature; responsibility tracing and forgiveness problems after the war; geo-politics and academic institutionalization) that took place before, during, and after the war, up until the present. Basic courses center on textual analyses (including texts and visual elements). Advanced courses center on discussions of key issues and theories. The cluster will also invite scholars, home and abroad, to give speeches and offer courses at National Tsing Hua University, in order to build enriching conversations and a resourceful academic space.

文化研究国际中心

浏览人次: 2995

当代思潮与社会运动

学群简介
本学群由清华大学人社院(http://www2.hss.nthu.edu.tw/)的研究团队主导推动, 由四校成员共25人组成(清大18人,交大6人,中央1人)。该团队所主导之「当代思潮与社会运动」课群,尝试把亚际的文化资源、历史经验,与社会现实,聚焦在当代思潮─包括文化多元主义、民主、地方自主、全球化、绿色生活的脉络下,透过社会运动的具体实践,来厘清,并推进「理想」与「现实」的多层次辩证关系。希望透过这个实践/实验的过程,亚际文化可以经历进步性的转化,进而丰富、延展当代思潮,为二十一世纪的人类文明而努力。

研究方向
目前,当代思潮与社会运动研究群课程分为三大主题:「东亚公民社会」、「东亚生态」与「二战的记忆、经验与前瞻」。详细规划构想如下:
1·东亚公民社会:民主化与公民社会,几乎是每个东亚国家所面临的共同问题,也是东亚区域整合的核心问题。因此,本单元尝试从跨国社会运动的角度讨论公民社会的连结,并透过这种连结,解决东亚诸国所面临的共同困境,建立国与国之间的信任与合作,促成东亚之间的公共领域与区域整合。课程的内容包括「社区营造」、「公民农业」、「公共领域」与「社会运动」等。所有这些课程都以各国本身的经验为基础,进而相互分享、连结、学习、整合。

2·东亚生态:本主题课程欲透过东亚地区生态的实况的描写、报导、分析来了解生态变化的过程与机制。方法论的取径将从历史、文学、哲学、社会学、政治学和人类学等角度切入,对于此地区的地理环境、物质和非物质资源、空间认同、生态的恶化和复育所调动的人、事、物的网络引发的争论和治理进行跨学科的对话和论辩。初阶的课程以文本(包括文学鼘历史鼘地理学与纪录片)的分析为主,进阶的课程则以议题、区域环境生态运动的实务与理论研讨为主。本课程主题将邀请国内外学者来访演讲与授课,进一步丰富扩大台湾联大的学术社群资源。

3·二战的记忆、经验与前瞻:本主题课程将探讨第二次世界大战在东亚地区所造成的冲击与影响。我们将从历史、文学、哲学、社会学、政治学、人类学等角度,对于二战的酝酿期、进行中的阶段,以及战争结束后至今的各个时期,所引发的各种文化现象与争论(仅举数例:「沦陷区」人民对占领者的抵抗与合作;历史与文学书写中关于战争的异调叙述;战后责任追究与宽恕和解的问题;地缘政治与学术建制等),进行跨学科的探讨。初阶的课程以文本(包括文字与视觉)分析为主,进阶的课程则以议题与理论研讨为主。本课程主题也将邀请国内外学者来访与授课,以营造多元对话与丰富积累的学术空间。