IICS

View count: 3097

About IICS

The International Institute for Cultural Studies, University System of Taiwan (IICS-UST) is Taiwan’s first ever inter-university academic institution that features innovative research and inter-disciplinary approaches to teaching in social sciences and humanities.
 
The Institute has established an interdepartmental Master’s program in Inter-Asia Cultural Studies. The program offers comprehensive knowledge of Asian societies, histories, and cultures with special focuses on modern intellectual thoughts, social theories, gender/sex studies, and visual and film studies.
 
Aiming to become one of the leading research centers in Asia, the institute highlights four interdisciplinary research clusters, which respectively specialize in Critical Theory and Asian Modernity (Convened by Prof. Kuan-Hsing Chen, NCTU), Contemporary Thought-trends and Social Movements (Convened by Prof. Ding-Tzan Li, NTHU), Gender/Sexuality Studies (Convened by Prof. Josephine Chuen-Juei Ho, NCU), and Visual Culture Studies (Convened by Prof. Pin-chia Feng, NCTU). Each cluster is supported by 15-25 outstanding scholars and specialists in humanities and social sciences, while IICS-UST connects 19 member departments and 7 academic centers.
 
With renowned professors and promising junior researchers working together, IICS and its four research clusters promote academic exchange and scholarly collaboration across national borders. Ongoing projects include:
 
A.    The International Chair Professors Program
IICS invites international scholars to perform research and instruct at departments and affiliated research centers.
 
B.    The Short-term Visiting Scholars Program
Thought exchange is facilitated via speech series and courses designed on a short-term basis.
 
C.    The International Graduate Student Exchange Program
The IICS-UST graduate students have enjoyed networking with the wider international academic community as the institute is engaged in running workshops and transnational thematic summer schools.
 
D.    The International Workshops and Conferences Program
Each research cluster regularly organizes workshops and international conferences to foster progress in relevant research.
 
E.     The Global Publication Program
On the basis of workshops and conferences it has helped organize in Taiwan and around the globe, IICS has been active in coordinating both locally and globally-oriented publication projects.
 
International Academic Networks
 
A.    The Distinguished Scholar Lecture Series
In past years, IICS-UST has invited leading scholars from around the world to deliver series of lectures that give insight into contemporary issues. These include Professor Roy Bin Wong of UCLA Asia Institute Director, Honorary Professor Partha Chatterjee of the Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Calcutta, and Japanese philosopher and literature critic Karatani Kojin.
 
B.    International Cooperation Agreements
The Institute has signed pacts with Chinese University of Hong Kong, the University of Hong Kong, and the University of Sydney. Talks on academic cooperation are ongoing with the Institute of Philosophy at the University of Tokyo, the University of California, Irvine, the University of California, Los Angeles, Rutgers State University of New Jersey, and Leiden University.
 
C.    International Networks
IICS-UST started working with the Consortium of Inter-Asia Cultural Studies Institute in 2006, and with Ici-et-ailleur: Association pour une Philosophie Nomade in 2005. It also collaborates with the Centre for Contemporary Cultural Studies at Shanghai University, the Si-Mian Institute for Advanced Studies in Humanities at East China Normal University Shanghai, the Center of Advanced Studies in Social Science and Humanities at Tsing Hua University Beijing, and the Center for Studies of Marxist Social Theory at Nanjing University, among other prestigious institutes.

文化研究国际中心

浏览人次: 3401

中心简介

「文化研究国际中心」是台湾第一个突破现有大学体制的学术机构,也是亚洲以及全球国际学术圈中,独具特色、且有实质研究成果的研究中心与教学单位。
我们致力于超越校际与学科限制,整合交通大学、清华大学、中央大学以及阳明大学四个学校的人文社会领域之研究人才与教学资源,推动跨领域、跨校与跨国的学术研究团队。
同时,我们建立起可以跨校、跨专题选课的「亚际文化研究国际硕士学位学程」。这是国内第一个体制化的跨校合作学程,培育聚焦亚洲社会与文化脉络的下一代优秀研究人才,连带提昇本中心在国际学界的重要性。
本中心的长程目标,是成为亚际脉络的文化研究重镇。我们期待,重量级的国际学者、年轻研究者与研究生都愿意在这个以亚洲台湾为基地的平台进行多样化的学术交流,激发具有前瞻性的研究构想,进而产出突破性的人文社会跨领域研究成果。
文化研究国际中心是由位于交通大学的行政办公室以及四校办公室共构。第一届台湾联大文化研究国际中心主任为刘纪蕙教授,四校办公室主任分别为:中央大学办公室主任何春蕤教授,交通大学办公室主任陈光兴教授,清华大学办公室主任李丁讚教授,阳明大学办公室主任刘瑞琪教授。作为一个实质的学术平台,我们有效地整并起四校人文社会学者,与当前全球学术界关切的研究主题接轨,稳定发展四大研究群,分别由15至25位跨校同仁合作,总共有四校19个系所、7个研究室以及七十馀位同仁共同支持。后文「四大研究学群简介」有更详细的叙述,在此仅扼要介绍:
一、「批评理论与亚洲现代性」
(召集人:交通大学陈光兴教授)
二、「当代思潮与社会运动」
(召集人:清华大学李丁讚教授)
三、「性/别研究」
(召集人:中央大学何春蕤教授)
四、「视觉文化」
(召集人:交通大学冯品佳教授)


各研究群由资深教师主导,并提携年轻新进教师,具体形成共同研究方向的研究群,并且积极推动国际学术合作。具体工作有:
一、驻校国际讲座教授
进行半年的驻校研究与授课,拓展国际学术交流,强化亚际文化研究以及支援系所的教学。
二、短期国际访问学者
进行短期演讲系列或是合作授课,促成各研究群与国际学界凝聚共同的问题意识与研究计画。
三、国际研究生交流
积极建立几个国际合作单位的研究生互访与交换,并且定期规划研究生工作坊或是国际暑期班,有助研究生建立起国际研究社群。
四、国际学术工作坊与研讨会
各研究群根据发展中的问题意识以及合作中的国际学者,规划学术工作坊以及国际学术研讨会,以便具体推进研究成果。
五、国际出版
主要以各研究群所举办的工作坊与研讨会为基础,不只国内出版,更朝向国际出版。至今已累积相当可观的成果。


以上述人才网络为基础,本中心持续进行三大项整合型计画,以及多项国际学术交流工作。后者主要有:
一、年度杰出学者讲座(The Distinguished Scholar Lecture Series)
本中心持续固定邀请国际学界具影响力的思想家,针对当代议题提出观察、批判与反思,为本地学界激荡出思想能量,并且产生跨领域的对话。受邀学者包括UCLA亚洲研究所主任王国斌教授,印度加尔各答着名之社会科学研究中心荣誉教授Partha Chatterjee,日本当代理论批评家、思想家、哲学家、文学评论家柄谷行人(Karatani Kojin)。2015年度则邀请当代批判理论代表Douglas Kellner教授。
二、国际大学合作计画
本中心与东京大学总合文化研究科、香港大学、香港中文大学、韩国中央大学与澳洲雪梨大学已进行实际签约合作。洽商中的合作机构则包括美国加州大学洛杉矶分校、美国加州大学尔湾分校、美国罗特格斯大学、荷兰莱顿大学。
三、国际合作网络
文化研究国际中心从2006年开始与Consortium of Inter-Asia Cultural Studies Institutions合作、从2005年开始与Ici-et-ailleurs: Association pour une Philosophie Nomade合作。其他长期合作交流的国际学术机构,包括东京大学总合文化研究科、上海大学文化研究中心、上海华东师范大学思勉高等人文研究院、北京清华大学高等人文科学研究中心、南京大学马克思主义研究中心等。